General Talking-free Saturday

It's a hard day for me because there is no General-Talking (Linda and I..., I did this in the past..., My former student did this..., Me and Peter did this...) at The Charlottetown Farmers Market. Covid-19, why are you ruining the simple fun pleasures of daily life? 

 

Tags: 

Black Lives Matter

My Unconference, Part Two

On May 15 I organized “House Stuff that Matters,” an unconference on Zoom attended by 25 people from all around the world. We split into small groups to answer two questions: “What have you learned from the pandemic that you want to keep for the future?“ and “What do you like about the place where you live?“

This Friday, May 29, 2020 from 10:00 a.m. to 12 noon Atlantic Daylight Time, I am organizing part two of the unconference, an opportunity for people to gather to talk about things they are working on. These can be presentations, “show and tell” or discussions about projects and ideas for projects, and can be about anything you like: a work project, a hobby, a passion, a new product, an art or craft.

All are welcome to attend; you don’t need to present to be able to attend.

Each person who presents will have 10 minutes, with 10 minutes for discussion to follow. We will have time for 6 presenters.

1. Do you have something to present? Send me an email with a short summary.

2. Will you attend? Register for the Zoom meeting in advance.

i am looking forward to it.

Start time in other time zones:

  • Eastern Time: 9:00 a.m.
  • United Kingdom and Ireland: 2:00 p.m.
  • Netherlands, Germany, Sweden: 3:00 p.m.
  • Indonesia: 8:00 p.m.

HSTM2020: My Unconference on May 15, 2020

On May 15, 2020 I am hosting an "unconference" on Zoom for family, veterans of previous unconferences (MSTM14, STM18, Crafting {:} a Life), and new friends.

Because we have all been confined to our homes for many weeks, the theme of the unconference, taking off from the theme of earlier unconferences, is "House Stuff that Matters" (HSTM), and we will gather and seek to answer the questions:

What have you learned from the pandemic that you want to keep for the future?

What do you like about the place where you live?

Everyone is welcome to participate: you do not need any qualifications, and you do not need to have gone to an unconference before.

Please register in advance for the Zoom.

Listen to the unconference playlist in Spotify.

Here is the schedule:

Time (Atlantic Daylight Time) Time (Other Time Zones) What's Happening?
10:00 a.m.

Eastern Time: 9:00 a.m.
United Kingdom and Ireland: 2:00 p.m.
Netherlands, Germany, Sweden: 3:00 p.m.
Indonesia: 8:00 p.m.
 

Introductions
Review of Unconference Format
Split into small "breakout" groups of 5 people.
10:15 a.m. Eastern Time: 9:15 a.m.
United Kingdom and Ireland: 2:15 p.m.
Netherlands, Germany, Sweden: 3:15 p.m.
Indonesia: 8:15 p.m.
Breakout discussions:
"What have you learned from the pandemic that you want to keep for the future?"
"What do you like about the place where you live?"
11:00 a.m. Eastern Time: 10:00 a.m.
United Kingdom and Ireland: 3:00 p.m.
Netherlands, Germany, Sweden: 4:00 p.m.
Indonesia: 9:00 p.m.
Regroup in larger group.
Report on breakout discussions.
11:30 a.m. Eastern Time: 10:30 a.m.
United Kingdom and Ireland: 3:30 p.m.
Netherlands, Germany, Sweden: 4:30 p.m.
Indonesia: 9:30 p.m.
Concluding Remarks
Plans for the future
12:00 p.m. Eastern Time: 11:00 a.m.
United Kingdom and Ireland: 4:00 p.m.
Netherlands, Germany, Sweden: 5:00 p.m.
Indonesia: 10:00 p.m.
End

My Daily Schedule

Monday/Wednesday
Face to Face Learning (Video-Chat)

Tuesday
Free Learning (Weekly Learning Seminar)

Wednesday
Talking about Life (Driving)

Thursday 
Walking in Morning 
Mindfulness and Meditation in Late Morning

Friday
Fun Day (Lunch is Free For All, Not Regular Lunch - Doing Not Regular Things that Aren’t Monday/Wednesday Things, Tuesday Things, Wednesday Things, Thursday Things)

Learning Covid-19

As I finished up of Philosophy Class at UPEI, I don’t know what to do afterwards (now) because I need some more things to learn about than more Philosophy. 

 
I need help with this because I need a group learning not one on one. 
 
It is making me frustrated that there is no learning now. 

-Oliver

Pages